Hotels: News

Forecasting performance in post-COVID world

Hotel investors and other financial stakeholders face a dilemma in the current COVID-19...

COVID-19: Expedia bookings nosedive | Beverly Hilton furloughs

Expedia bookings down 90% from 2019 Expedia Group’s whopping 82% decline in...

Monday, August 03, 2020

Social brands adapt in COVID-19 era

COVID-19: Melia Q2 in the red | Dublin struggles

Friday, July 31, 2020

COVID-19:Hawaii is ready | TUI closes 166 agencies

Thursday, July 30, 2020

COVID-19: Loses could hit $320B | Canadians struggle onward

Room Mate founder focuses on potential wins

Reviving a rant

Wednesday, July 29, 2020

COVID-19: Europe collapse? | Canadians sue for coverage

Micro-weddings go lavish for small groups

Tuesday, July 28, 2020

COVID-19: CEOs want more tests | Fosun’s US$120M loss

How to keep menus safe without breaking the bank

Monday, July 27, 2020

COVID-19: IHG served on 103 hotels | Spain's crash

Perks and pandemics: Elite status in a post-COVID world?

Friday, July 24, 2020

COVID-19: Hong Kong faces long recovery | Meetings-driven tourism hurting

Considering chargebacks with cashless payment

Thursday, July 23, 2020

Managing event guest list in the new normal

COVID-era events: ‘Eat, get content and go home’

COVID-19: The new customer journey | Buy a test from this hotel company

Wednesday, July 22, 2020

COVID-19: Mandatory masks for Hyatt, Ovolo | U.S. industry calls out for help

Cleanliness, communication drive guest satisfaction: J.D. Power

Tuesday, July 21, 2020

9 ways to become an aware leader

Kempinski GM introduces world to Mongolia

Marriott requiring face covering in public spaces

COVID-19: Hoteliers sue SF | Bahamas closed to US

Monday, July 20, 2020

COVID: CDC extends cruise ban | US transactions down 74%

Friday, July 17, 2020

COVID: Shift to virtual meetings | U.S. performance flat

How Loews is managing around unpredictable demand

Building summer success with COVID-safe activities

Thursday, July 16, 2020

New revenue streams: ‘There are no silver bullets’

Wednesday, July 15, 2020

Do hotel loyalty programs need an overhaul?

COVID-19: Halekulani closed until 2021 | Consumers avoid travel sites

Tuesday, July 14, 2020

Bottled drinks, cocktail kits make a revenue splash

Patio profit plans (with toucans) at Palácio Tangará

COVID-19: Quarantine fee in NSW | Is Hawaii ready to reopen?

Hilton program targets group travel and events

Monday, July 13, 2020

COVID-19: De Niro struggles, too | Algarve plummets

Tough cuts to control cash burn

Welcoming diners, spa guests as COVID-19 rules lift

Friday, July 10, 2020

COVID 19: Soneva's return guidelines | US rebound?

Managing cash burn: Finances

COVID will shift summer travel into fall – are you ready?

Thursday, July 09, 2020

COVID-19: How much to clean a room? | Fontainebleau laying off 1,300

Level up strategies to slow cash burn

Wednesday, July 08, 2020

COVID-19: Leveraging Airbnb out | France, Singapore look inward

Tuesday, July 07, 2020

COVID-19: Australian hotels eye recovery | Oyo slashes footprint in Japan

Oberoi GM perfecting service culture, even in lockdown

Monday, July 06, 2020

COVID-19: Banyan Tree certification | Villain or victim?

How hotel kitchens fed Spain’s vulnerable amid pandemic

Friday, July 03, 2020

COVID-19: Choice layoffs in U.S. | Airbnb further bans ‘parties’

In industry crunch, cash is king

How to design a strong post-COVID package

Thursday, July 02, 2020

COVID-19: L.A. union: Hotels aren’t safe | Asia-Pac regional travel at a halt

Leadership, recovery – and spa: HOTELS top 5 stories for June

Will you charge for housekeeping?

Wednesday, July 01, 2020

COVID-19: Workers sue Vegas employers | Fontainebleau sues union

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

How does biz interruption insurance work in a pandemic?

How Park Hyatt Paris-Vendôme disrupted its lobby design

COVID-19: NY hotels struggle to pay bills | China’s tourism isn’t pretty

Monday, June 29, 2020

COVID-19: Delhi group boycotts Chinese | Oyo’s mass U.S. layoffs

Friday, June 26, 2020

COVID-19: Las Vegas mask policy | US profits tick up in May

Asset manager’s outlook: Pricing, groups, brand relationships

Tech’s role in hospitality recovery

Thursday, June 25, 2020

Sue Harmsworth on the future of spa and wellness

COVID-19: EU may bar U.S. travelers | Travel agencies see this trend

Global performance still sees lows: STR data

Month-over-month performance begins to stabilize

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

COVID-19: US$4B Saudi tourism fund | Hoteliers question Thai luxury shift

How important is hygiene?

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

What legacy would you leave behind?

Acqualina manages kid care with summer camp partnership

COVID-19: ‘Right of recall’ | NYC hotels finally agree on standards

Monday, June 22, 2020

COVID-19: Four Seasons Boston to pay out | Miami Beach booked solid

Road to recovery: ‘The appetite for M&A is huge’

Friday, June 19, 2020

COVID-19: Tax revenue will fall US$16.8B | | A U.S. domestic travel credit?

Leadership in luxury: ‘We are the most privileged to serve’

Look to theme parks to inspire COVID safety measures

Thursday, June 18, 2020

COVID-19: Choice franchisees sue | Future of Thai domestic travel

Beaumont GM balances luxury with new realities

Nourish your culture

Wednesday, June 17, 2020

COVID-19: Many NY hotels won’t re-open | Thailand’s US$722M rebound plan

Proud of our industry – and its bright future

Tuesday, June 16, 2020

Amid COVID, restaurateur reinvents his business

Spa box builds Perry Cabin’s revenue, relationships

COVID-19: China occupancy starts recovery | UK performance static

Monday, June 15, 2020

COVID-19: GBTA to EU: Lift restrictions | Lux Manhattan hotel in default

Road to recovery: Fight for property survival

Is ‘reconnection’ travel the new big thing?

Friday, June 12, 2020

COVID-19: 197M industry jobs at stake | Vegas re-opens at 50% occupancy

Hay-Adams' Bruland a witness to history in D.C.

Airbnb’s new plans for local growth, domestic travel

Keep homesharing from stealing your post-pandemic guests

Thursday, June 11, 2020

COVID-19: More MGM re-openings | Small rise in U.S. performance

Two crucial steps in US hotel biz’s return to prosperity

Wednesday, June 10, 2020

COVID-19: Tripadvisor’s virus report | Aman reopening

Will OTAs become less powerful or more relevant after COVID?

Tuesday, June 09, 2020

COVID-19: Protocols could cost billions | U.S. leisure travel recovery

Monday, June 08, 2020

COVID-19: Global performance updates | Waterpark resorts also hurting

The path to recovery: 2020 will be a deal desert

Flexibility is everything when it comes to PPP

Friday, June 05, 2020

COVID-19: PPP package ‘important step’ | Israel’s boost for hotels

A list of reopening tactics by department

Thursday, June 04, 2020

COVID-19: Manhattan RevPAR plummets | Tracking travel demand

Even in crisis, hotels can focus on sustainability

Wednesday, June 03, 2020

NYU CEO panel: Leadership, recovery and the future of hotels

COVID-19: Hoshino’s investment fund | Marriott reopens in China

Tuesday, June 02, 2020

Managing through crisis: Top 5 stories for May

Rosewood Bangkok’s front-door conversion pays off

COVID-19: Sondland sues insurer | Marriott in the Hamptons

Monday, June 01, 2020

For hotels in China, social media never stopped

Chinese hotels, focusing on local tourism, see guests return

COVID-19: Fontainebleau looks to renegotiate | Room or restaurant?

Getting F&B back to business: Protecting your profit

Friday, May 29, 2020

COVID-19: Colony considers selling | Lows, highs for U.S. performance

Accor launches travel video aimed at recapturing guests

Thursday, May 28, 2020

Marriott extends furloughs, predicts ‘position eliminations’

For loyalty programs, COVID shifts focus to guest relationships

COVID-19: 41% occupancy decline for U.S.? | Airbnb bookings rise 18%

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

Construction during COVID: How to keep projects moving

COVID-19: Wyndham extends fee relief | Global performance lows

Vienna re-opens – with one big difference

Tuesday, May 26, 2020

COVID-19: Bookings rebound for Accor | China RevPAR sees recovery

Good advice (besides ‘wear a mask’) from Vietnam VP

Monday, May 25, 2020

Singita 'miracle' stressed by COVID-19: Bailes

COVID-19: ‘Dire’ in Australia | U.S. drivable destinations show promise

Getting F&B back to business: Guest safety above all

Friday, May 22, 2020

COVID-19: Times Square Edition to shutter | Who’s re-opening

From high-touch to no-touch: The new hygiene paradigm

Five ways tech can support post-COVID guest messaging

Thursday, May 21, 2020

A new symbol for hospitality’s compassionate change-makers

What recovery could look like for big-box hotels

COVID-19: U.S. performance up slightly | A ‘road to recovery’?

Let the guest dictate protocol

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

Everything is on the table as hoteliers re-evaluate F&B

COVID-19: ‘Worst is yet to come’ | Travel-related U.S. unemployment at 51%

Tuesday, May 19, 2020

When, how many, how much: Charting rate, occupancy recovery

Postcard’s ‘small is big’ concept pays off as India reopens

COVID-19: Times Square is empty | The re-openings begin

Monday, May 18, 2020

COVID-19: Who wants to compete with Airbnb? | Trump hotel profits

Accor launches wellbeing platform

Getting F&B back to business: Focus on employees

Friday, May 15, 2020

Leaders’ outlook for post-COVID-19 hotel world

COVID-19: Global restart on travel | But how do the travelers feel?

Thursday, May 14, 2020

It’s a long-distance lockdown for this Vegas GM

COVID-19: Chafing at quarantine in Spain | Dubai begins opening

Furlough or sever? A financial hardship for employees, owners

Wednesday, May 13, 2020

How to keep team spirit, momentum intact

COVID-19: Hyatt lays off 1,300 | Airbnb sees V-shaped recovery

Tuesday, May 12, 2020

Leaders on how to manage careers right now

Coronavirus hobbled Marriott’s 2020 momentum

Choice’s midscale play keeps 1Q numbers buoyant

COVID-19: The REIT defaulting on US$3.2B | Staycation: It’s the future

How we are using UV light, room seals for hygiene

Monday, May 11, 2020

COVID-19: U.S. loses 50% of hospitality jobs in April | Shanghai Disney opens

Top leaders share lessons of survival

Friday, May 08, 2020

Leisure travelers will lead recovery, Hyatt says

Nassetta realistic, optimistic during Hilton earnings call

COVID-19: Tourism could fall 80% | U.S. hotels scramble for loans

‘Travel debt’ means big business after lockdown

Thursday, May 07, 2020

COVID-19: Airbnb’s layoffs, scale-down | Virgin sues property owner

Give your hygiene program teeth

Wednesday, May 06, 2020

Wyndham: We’re well-positioned to weather COVID-19

COVID-19: Should hotel rates freeze? | Consumers hungry for travel

Tuesday, May 05, 2020

COVID-19: AHLA hygiene protocols | Italy, Mexico, Egypt plan reopenings

Focusing on ‘interior appeal,’ fresh start at One Aldwych

Monday, May 04, 2020

COVID-19: MGM lays off 4 presidents | Ashford returns PPP loans

Friday, May 01, 2020

COVID-19: Hilton, Wynn at White House | U.S. continues decline

Sorenson, crisis lessons and resets: Top 5 for April

Performance plummets for most regions: HotStats

Managing post-COVID bookings with call centers

Thursday, April 30, 2020

How O’Leary, Gleneagles are managing through COVID

COVID-19: U.S. hotel profits fell 101% | Wynn offers free testing for staff

Wednesday, April 29, 2020

COVID-19: Mirae sued over Anbang deal | U.S. loans aren’t enough: AHLA

U.S. hotel investments hit, but hopes exist for rebound

Tuesday, April 28, 2020

COVID-19: 'Coronavirus-free’ certification? | A brutal month globally

Grace Bay COO keeps the ‘family’ together amid closure

Hilton’s new cleanliness standards

Monday, April 27, 2020

COVID-19: New Expedia CEO | All-time lows in Asia Pacific

Let’s support our industry associations like never before

Friday, April 24, 2020

COVID-19: Who’s buying Expedia stake | Will Germany recover fastest?

U.S. travelers will postpone trips for months: Survey

Thursday, April 23, 2020

COVID-19: Wynn CEO wants Vegas to re-open | Accor 1Q revenue down 17%

Kuenstle’s post-pandemic playbook for luxury

Shaking up the status quo

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

COVID-19: Trump D.C. seeks rent relief | Sternlicht: ‘Re-open economy’

Marriott launches cleanliness protocol council

Tuesday, April 21, 2020

How to maintain critical continuity amid furloughs, layoffs

At historic hotel, ‘shutdown’ means security, skeleton crew

COVID-19: U.S. construction pipeline record | Booking.com: Loan, layoffs?

Monday, April 20, 2020

COVID-19: Hilton RevPAR drop | Crown lays off 95% of staff

The new dawn of health and wellbeing

Friday, April 17, 2020

COVID-19: Hilton sells US$1B in points | Trump layoffs

Design and construction in the shadow of COVID-19

‘New normal’ must include these 15 climate-friendly steps

Thursday, April 16, 2020

COVID-19: Airline bailout takes flight | US$5.8B deal on hold

Heinecke on standards, robotics, OTAs and more

Wednesday, April 15, 2020

COVID-19: Collateral pain | Bankruptcy risk for Greek hotels

Minor's Heinecke discusses COVID-19 impact

Marriott: Enough liquidity to adapt through crisis

Tuesday, April 14, 2020

COVID-19: Relief for franchisees? | Hunter conference canceled

Mandarin Oriental leverages lessons of another crisis

Monday, April 13, 2020

COVID-19: Accor day rates | USTA seeks more funds

Sorenson's reminder of love for the business

Will sustainability still be relevant after COVID-19?

Friday, April 10, 2020

COVID-19: Jobs for NYC workers | SBE adds jobs, too

Slow weeks offer prime opening for self-assessment

Promoting your brand in a socially distanced world

Thursday, April 09, 2020

COVID-19: U.S., London decline further | Brown Palace closed

Longer-term implications of COVID-19

The social conundrum

Wednesday, April 08, 2020

COVID-19: Airbnb lands US$1B | Spanish recovery scenario

Strategies for engaging with team members

Tuesday, April 07, 2020

Langham’s Leser keeps calm and looks to the future

'Overreact' advised for contingency planning

COVID-19: India impact | Will Airbnb survive?

Outlook on recovery: How revenue managers should prepare

Monday, April 06, 2020

COVID-19: Oyo halts owner payments | Accor’s virus measures

Planning for a reset post-COVID-19

Outlook on recovery: Guidance for revenue managers (Part 1)

Friday, April 03, 2020

Ripple effect from China hits Thai hotels, tourism

COVID-19: Mainland China recovering? | Trump, so far, is not

Why ‘cleanliness theater’ matters now

Thursday, April 02, 2020

How to access CARES Act, other US relief funds

Redeploy, repair: Asian hotels reprioritize in downturn

COVID-19: U.S. occupancy tumbles | Airbnb’s US$250M apology

8 ways hotel design could (and should) change

Wednesday, April 01, 2020

Hotel editors weigh in on impact of COVID-19

Shock, then strategy: HOTELS top stories for March

COVID-19: Hyatt execs stock options | US$265M lawsuit

Aimbridge Hospitality responds to COVID-19

Tuesday, March 31, 2020

U.S. RevPAR forecast: Down 51% in 2020

No redundancies at Raffles Dubai: ‘We continue to plan’

COVID-19: London Airbnb rentals down | Hong Kong impact

VR travel: Timely, immediate and sustainable

Monday, March 30, 2020

Sanctuary housing: Key questions for hotels on front line

Exclusive: Loews chairman letter aims to reassure team

COVID-19: Nassetta forgoing salary | CARES Act passes

Practicing self-care during a difficult time

Friday, March 27, 2020

COVID-19: More relief needed, says AHLA

AJ Capital founder pivots, prepares for rebound

6 ways to leverage technology in the downturn

Thursday, March 26, 2020

COVID-19: Huge declines last week in US | Chinese eager for travel

Lessons from a crisis: A living manual

From Asia to U.S. and Europe, HotStats tracks downturn

A dose of perspective

Wednesday, March 25, 2020

COVID-19: Olympics on hold | Hyatt furloughs

How brands are leveraging social media in China

GBTA poll: Nearly all biz travel on hold

Tuesday, March 24, 2020

Ritz-Carlton GM is cross-training staff, marketing locally

Two hotel veterans assess the road ahead

COVID-19: No aloha in Hawaii | ‘What’s Wrong with America?’

Monday, March 23, 2020

3 keys to keep group, event business moving

Amid NYC restrictions, Arlo pivots F&B toward community

COVID-19: Trump layoffs, comment | Vegas crushed

Life in the time of corona: An update from Macau

Friday, March 20, 2020

Will we travel differently in a post-virus world?

Marriott: ‘Hundreds’ of likely closures, but deals still happening

COVID-19: Ashford cuts staff | Schrager sends message

Thursday, March 19, 2020

COVID-19: U.S. hotel stocks, RevPAR in decline

ITC Hotels highlights India outlook, protocols

Force majeure: What owners, operators need to know

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

It will take 5 years to restore pre-virus numbers: Analysis

COVID-19: Industry fallout | Country restrictions grow

U.S. hotel CEOs to White House: ‘Urgent action’ needed

Tuesday, March 17, 2020

COVID-19: Israel crisis containment | London losses

Board games, baking and boating

Monday, March 16, 2020

COVID-19: MGM closings | S. Korea recovery?

Red Planet CEO: Next three months critical for U.S. hotels

Friday, March 13, 2020

Owner-operator talks COVID-19 shock, first response

COVID-19: $24 billion tourism loss in US? | China past the peak?

Take note: Starbucks’ template for customer communications

Thursday, March 12, 2020

COVID-19 roundup: India suspends most visas | U.S. RevPAR down

The empathy angle

Wednesday, March 11, 2020

COVID-19 roundup: GBTA cites ‘alarming’ cancelations